SAGA Best Paper Award

  • 2019: Anthea Davids: The Structural Mapping of the Pletmos Basin through the Mesozoic and Cenozoic (Best Poster Presentation)
  • 2019: Thiashen Nadan: Subsurface mapping of parts of the Far Western Limb of the Bushveld Complex using Geophysics: Preliminary Results (Best Student Oral presentation)
  • 2019: Nigel Hicks: Re-interpretations of legacy 2D seismic, well and aeromagnetic data: Implications for basin characterisation of a proposed CCS site – the South African Pilot CO2 Storage Project (Best Keynote presentation)
  • 2019: Lebogang Sehoole: (student category): Seismic, statistical and spatial analysis of potholes in the western Bushveld Complex, South Africa (Best Oral presentation)
  • 2011 – “Magnetic Evolution of the Geothermal History of the Western Karoo Basin” – Leonie Mare, Michiel de Kock, Hassina Mouri and Bruce Cairncross
  • 2009 – “Gravi-magnetic anomalies of uniform thin polygonal sheets”  – Horst Holstein
  • 2007  – “Penetrating neutron radiation enhances physical properties of rock”– Frikkie de Beer
  • 2005 – “Borehole radar delineation of the Ventersdorp Contact Reef in three dimensions” – Petro du Pisani & Declan Vogt
  • 2003 – “Fixed point inversion of geophysical data”- Dr Gordon Cooper
  • 2001 – “Seismic Exploration for Merensky Reef: The Way Ahead” – Gordon Davison & Gordon Chunnett
Meritorious Geophysical Service Award Year
Braam du Plooy 2013
Johan de Beer 2009
Edgar Stettler 2009
Gordon Cooper 2009
Sue Webb 2009
Manfred Hauger 2008
Reinie Meyer 2007
Krahman Medal Winners YearSAGA Honorary Members
Edgar Stettler 2013
George Smith 2005Geoff Campbell
Maurice Gidlow 2005Eddie Köstlin
Johan Enslin 1993R. W. Woolham
Jan van Zijl 1992Oscar Weiss
At Roux 1992Jan van Zijl
Ian Gough 1989At Roux
Oscar Weiss 1988
Anton Hales 1988
Rudolf Krahman 1988
Geophysical Enterprise Award Year
Laurent Ameglio 2013
Geoff Campbell 2009
Terry Odgers 2009
Ray van Rensburg 2007

Contact South African Geophysical Association for more information